welcome world and save the date

Welcome. I have begun this blog to talk about a sense of place in artist books. I am investigating four broad areas, using the idea of an artist book as ones own geography of personal place. I hope you will constructively contribute to the conversation.

Follow the five areas of my thoughts, on five days of discussion, to use each day as a page for the area of place I’d like to talk about. I’m looking for a creative critique to move us forward, investigate, discover and apply our thoughts.

Save the date for a Sense of Place in Artist Books panel discussion on Nov. 7, 2012 at 6 p.m., 125 Nolte Center, University of Minnesota, Twin Cities with Sarah Bodman, Research Fellow for Artists Books, Programme Leader MA Multidisciplinary Printmaking, Centre for Fine Print Research, UWE Bristol,¬†Department of Art & Design who wrote A Manifesto for the Book with Tom Sowden and Creating Artist Books (2005); Betty Bright, independent scholar and curator wrote No Longer Innocent: Book Art in America, 1960 to 1980 (Granary Books), the first comprehensive history of the book art movement in America; Jeff Rathermel, artist and Executive Director of the Minnesota Center for Book Arts; Marianne Coombs, journalist and reporter for Minnesota Public Radio, host of State of the Arts, a weekly program dedicated to Minnesota’s arts community.

About sense of place in artist books

I am an artist. I find the ephemeral place in my art conjured up through practice. I sift through raw materials with my hopes and dreams, and ideas take form as if intended.
This entry was posted in artist book and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

