On Mull

Iain Biggs, Josh Biggs United Kingdom, 2009

Iain Biggs, Josh Biggs
United Kingdom, 2009

On Mull A collaboration between my son Josh and myself. It reflects a brief but intense engagement with the Isle of Mull off the west coast of Scotland. It arises from my running a field trip for doctoral and graduate students with Josh attending to document work for the artist Suze Adams, whose mother’s family came from Mull. From the high hills of Mull we can see Skye, where my grandmother’s family lived for many years and to which my grandparents returned during the Second World War. The book uses the interplay of black and white and color photography with a spare text to engage with familial presences and absences and with the fruitful play between the roles of the participant observer and observant participant.

About sense of place in artist books

I am an artist. I find the ephemeral place in my art conjured up through practice. I sift through raw materials with my hopes and dreams, and ideas take form as if intended.
This entry was posted in artist book and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

