Stones from the River

Curt Lund United States, 2010

Curt Lund
United States, 2010

This found book inspired the alterations made to it. I grew up on the banks of the Missouri River in Bismarck, North Dakota; a topographic view of the Missouri winding through my hometown is carved into the cover of the book. The inset stones were collected along the Fox Island river landing, a significant location in two regards: first, as a common destination among friends, including my final evening in Bismarck before moving away. Second, as the terminus of a bike trail I often traveled as a child with my father; the stones were collected from Fox Island in December 2009, after returning to Bismarck upon his death.

The sense of place has engaged the imaginations of many artists and has been explored throughout the canon of art history. I see my work as part of a collective effort to move contemporary artistic exploration of place beyond romantic interpretation, toward more sophisticated references to geography, cartography, architecture, and the physical, natural and manmade markers of place that contribute to how we think of, experience and function within the world we share – the hidden geography of everyday life.

Altered book, found objects

About sense of place in artist books

I am an artist. I find the ephemeral place in my art conjured up through practice. I sift through raw materials with my hopes and dreams, and ideas take form as if intended.
This entry was posted in artist book and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

