L’Escalier en Colimaçon (The Spiral Staircase)

L’Escalier en Colimaçon (The Spiral Staircase) Elizabeth Forrest Canada, 2012

Spiral Staircase -EF 2012 L’Escalier en Colimaçon (The Spiral Staircase)
Elizabeth Forrest
Canada, 2012

In this work I am sharing my experience, both actual and imagined, of a place – the interior of a spiral staircase to be found embedded in a masonry embankment that borders two levels of the medieval village of Caylus, SW France. Of indeterminate and mixed provenance, the connective well of the staircase imposes extreme light and darkness as you turn through it, giving a sense of limitation that at first visit, evokes a frisson of terror. This snail -like structure reappears in different manifestations throughout the natural world and the notion has been adapted to their purposes by architects, essayists, and filmmakers, engineers, yogis and geneticists. I enjoy the resonances I found in creating the work, as well as the challenge of representing a not insignificant wonder of architecture with paper and ink.

Japanese paper

About sense of place in artist books

I am an artist. I find the ephemeral place in my art conjured up through practice. I sift through raw materials with my hopes and dreams, and ideas take form as if intended.
This entry was posted in artist book and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

