Sweet Grass: My Place

Sweet Grass: My Place CB Sherlock, Seymour Press United States, 2010

Sweet Grass: My Place
CB Sherlock, Seymour Press
United States, 2010

There exists a place where a part of our heart will always be. Our heartstrings pull at us, calling us home to that place. The structure captures the sense of landscape, colors and grasses and the layout of the text illustrates the vastness of the open prairie sky where above the words contemplation sits, printed grasses wave before the viewer’s eyes, delivering them into the prairie itself. In the familiar form of a book, the viewers have the tactile experience of holding and touching, drawing themselves inward. The content of the text, as well as the suggestive imagery welcome the viewer to understand the emotional attachment to my place and where others may feel similar emotions. Each of us has a different place where we are most at home, centered and at peace. As the distance shortens, my feelings elate…the ache of being elsewhere is gone.

Letterpress, Shekishu paper

About sense of place in artist books

I am an artist. I find the ephemeral place in my art conjured up through practice. I sift through raw materials with my hopes and dreams, and ideas take form as if intended.
This entry was posted in artist book and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

