Flowers in Hotel Rooms, vols. III, IV

Flowers in Hotel Rooms, vol. III
Sarah Bodman
United Kingdom, ongoing since 2002

Flowers in Hotel Rooms, vols. I-IV Sarah Bodman United Kingdom, ongoing since 2002

Flowers in Hotel Rooms, vol. IV

Volume IV, 2009 was made with this exhibition in mind. The series has become a set of journals, documenting my own actions as well as those of characters in novels, or writers whose work I admire. Working in Poland, meant a stay near the home of the writer and artist Radoslaw Nowakowski so we could interview him and film his books. He lives in Dabrowa Dolna, a tiny hamlet, and as I sat outside reading Ethan Frome by Edith Warton at dusk, the dogs barking, I noticed garlic nailed up for protection outside the front door by the B&B owner. In Minneapolis in winter, with long, cold corridors but no snow, I’m reading The Shining by Stephen King, and set about typing “all work and no play” on a portable plastic typewriter. In Whitby, England as the mist rolls in from the sea, I willingly watch it envelop the window as I read Nosferatu In Love by Jim Shepard.

Thanks to Richard Brautigan, the books are all inspired by his novel, The Abortion: An Historical Romance, 1966. It features an old lady who grew flowers in her hotel room by candlelight. I think it is possible that the Flowers in Hotel Rooms series has become a bit of an obsession, but I can’t think of anything I would rather do now when I have to travel.

About sense of place in artist books

I am an artist. I find the ephemeral place in my art conjured up through practice. I sift through raw materials with my hopes and dreams, and ideas take form as if intended.
This entry was posted in artist book and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

