Doverodde

Doverodde Nancy Campbell United Kingdom, 2012

Doverodde
Nancy Campbell
United Kingdom, 2012

Doverodde shelters in an oxbow on the Limfjord, a glacial channel separating North Jutland from mainland Denmark. I was writer in residence in Doverodde during the month leading up to the Doverodde Book Arts Festival in May 2012. The location lay behind the choice of theme for the Festival: On The Margins (or Udkant in Danish).

Despite the relative isolation of Doverodde, there was always something happening to justify walking away from my studio for a few moments – a boat launch, a flower market, a disagreement between dogs. Alongside work on poems about the region’s geology and waterways, I began to collect notes about my everyday experiences in the village. This illustrated selection from these writings provides a dose of life on the margins of Denmark.

About sense of place in artist books

I am an artist. I find the ephemeral place in my art conjured up through practice. I sift through raw materials with my hopes and dreams, and ideas take form as if intended.
This entry was posted in artist book and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

