Far Rockaway

Far Rockaway

Far Rockaway
Maureen Cummins
United States, 2005

Far Rockaway was inspired by and based upon a collection of love letters that I found in the flea market. The letters, which numbered over a hundred and were crammed into a shoebox, were all addressed to Far Rockaway, NY; with cancellation stamps marked Brooklyn, NY. I pulled out one of the letters, which was addressed in an elegant, cursive hand, and began reading: “My own dear Leo, One week ago this morning we began our tryst together, commenced the celebration of those memorable love-feasts…” Realizing that I’d found a collection of love letters, and excited to read everything that such a passionate, eloquent and urbane Brooklyn woman like me had to say to her lover, I bought up the whole shoebox for fifty dollars and headed home. On the subway ride to Brooklyn, though, I couldn’t wait to read the letters, so I pulled one out and read the whole letter. It spoke of love and longing and a clandestine meeting in a hotel in Far Rockaway. I was thrilled to be reading about a secret romance. I was even more thrilled, and surprised when I turned the last page over and read the words, “Yours, Jacko.” It was then that I knew I’d found something truly precious.

About sense of place in artist books

I am an artist. I find the ephemeral place in my art conjured up through practice. I sift through raw materials with my hopes and dreams, and ideas take form as if intended.
This entry was posted in artist book and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

