Time Traveler in Showa Period Japan

Time Traveler in Showa Period Japan Tuula Moilanen Finland, 2012

Time Traveler in Showa Period Japan
Tuula Moilanen
Finland, 2012

Thin, transparent layers of time cover all places. When I travel to a city where I spent my childhood, I’m not only moving to some physical location on a map – I also feel like going back to my early days. We sense the layers of time especially strong at historical sites. There, the great stories of the past come alive through our imagination. In my book, the adventurous Time Traveler sends us postcards from the Japanese Showa period, from imperial Kyoto, the old capital of Japan. The time zone in places he visits is about 50 years ago, and they are famous sightseeing spots even today. Thus, the ‘sense of place’ in my book is based on actual places. I have added my very own thin and transparent layer of time over these original scenic postcards.

About sense of place in artist books

I am an artist. I find the ephemeral place in my art conjured up through practice. I sift through raw materials with my hopes and dreams, and ideas take form as if intended.
This entry was posted in artist book and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

