Voyage(r): Tourist Map to Japan

Voyage(r): Tourist Map to Japan Clarissa Sligh, Nexus Press Ashville, North Carolina,  2000

Voyage(r): Tourist Map to Japan
Clarissa Sligh, Nexus Press
Ashville, North Carolina, 2000

Voyage(r) Voyage(r) Voyage(r)Voyage(r)Voyage(r) Voyage(r)

I began Voyage(r): Tourist Map to Japan, during my artist residency at Nexus Press (1988) in Atlanta.

Voyage(r) is based on a visit to Japan where I connected with friends I met when they came from Japan to visit New York. During their stay they took some Karate classes with my sensei Kishi whom they knew from Japan. In turn, my first visit to Japan they invited me and my partner into their homes and suggested places off the beaten path to visit. Their guidance created an opportunity to explore the experience of interacting with the people and place as a black female American. I had never felt more foreign but at the same time I never felt safer.

Offset printed on Mohawk Options with duotones. 7 1/4″ x 5″ symth sewn. Edition of 1000. Produced at Nexus Press, Atlanta, Georgia. 2000.

http://clarissasligh.com/

http://vampandtramp.com/finepress/s/clarissa-sligh.html

 

About sense of place in artist books

I am an artist. I find the ephemeral place in my art conjured up through practice. I sift through raw materials with my hopes and dreams, and ideas take form as if intended.
This entry was posted in artist book and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

