Homeless People, Pheasant on the Cresent and 34 Other Stories

Homeless People Tom Sowden, United Kingdom, 2004

Homeless Homeless People
Tom Sowden
United Kingdom, 2004

In looking for subject matter I turned my attention to a non-place that is dominant in my life, the supermarket. I became fascinated by the trolleys (carts) that we push around -that contain a little slice of our personality while we trudge through the shop. As I had become aware of the trolleys in the supermarket, they became more apparent when I spotted abandoned ones around Bristol. I wanted to photograph them as they were found; my guess is they had been left after a good drunken run through the streets. The characters that these trolleys assumed were that of the broken and damaged, at odds with the surroundings of place as opposed to non-place. These photographs became homage to Homeless People.

Pheasant on the Crescent and 34 Other Stories 2006

PHEAS2 Pheasant on the Crescent and 34 Other Stories
2006

Photo-diary of the worldwide trip of a plastic decoy pheasant.

About sense of place in artist books

I am an artist. I find the ephemeral place in my art conjured up through practice. I sift through raw materials with my hopes and dreams, and ideas take form as if intended.
This entry was posted in artist book and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

