Some Specimins

Some Specimens Jody Williams, Flying Paper Press United States, 2005

Some Specimens
Jody Williams, Flying Paper Press
United States, 2005

Some Specimens features poems, and drawings of specimens collected in County Claire, Ireland. Each cover contains its own specimen, a tiny shell from Galway Bay, where I spent a semester tutoring students from the Minneapolis College of Art and Design at the Burren College of Art. During my early wanderings, I began picking up interesting specimens of plant and animal life, and drawing one of them every evening in a small sketchbook. Throughout the semester my journal kept my notes from a range of Irish writings and field guides, along with observations and thoughts about collecting evidence as a way to document place and experience, and about the sources and inherent meanings of the specimens themselves.

Digital prints, handmade font

About sense of place in artist books

I am an artist. I find the ephemeral place in my art conjured up through practice. I sift through raw materials with my hopes and dreams, and ideas take form as if intended.
This entry was posted in artist book and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

